Taruko I – digital album


We proudly present ‘Taruko I’, a brand new album by Dutch Trio Koko. Over the past few weeks they released two singles: Gildo & Esplanada Way 797, as tasters for this new album.


Yes it’s been a while. Over the past 20 years the Koko’s have been extremely busy with all kinds of other musical projects, but when the pandemic struck early 2020, they finally found time to finish and come up with some brand new Trio Koko tracks. On ‘Taruko’ the band again dives into a whirlpool of instrumental music. The bands mission didn’t change over the years: Roots ‘n bluesy exotic surfy space stuff on bass, drums, guitars and an occasional crappy organ. That, in a nutshell, is what the Dutch band Trio Koko is still about. Bassplayer Ton van der Kolk produced the album and mixed it with Edwin in ‘t Veld. Last mentioned is also responsible for mastering the album.

‘Taruko I’ implies there’s more to come and that’s correct. Next year, somewhere in 2022, Trio Koko will release ‘Taruko II’ as a digital album as well. After that, a fine selection of the tracks from both albums will be released on vinyl.

All releases are out on Sheephead Records and also available on the main streaming platforms such as Spotify, Deezer, Tidal, YouTube, Bandcamp, Apple Music and many others.


  • Ron ‘Parelvet’ Smith – guitars, mandoline, lapsteel
  • Ton van der Kolk – bass, guitars, keys, percussion, vocals, mixing & production
  • Timothy ‘Phil Martin’ van der Holst – drums, vibes & percussion

Guest & more

  • Maarten Teekens – additional vocals
  • Govert van der Kolm – additional hammond
  • Edwin in ’t Veld – mixing & mastering
  • Kim Peters (FunkFabriek) – artwork

If you prefer a Bandcamp purchase, be our guest.